Diving In

Since quitting my job I have found that I can find ways to bide my time.

Between the beach, cleaning the house and the yard, volunteering at church and wasting my brain away watching CSI: NY, the days are flying by, but in a good way.

I’ve even counted over $90 worth of change.

I hadn’t thought of this until talking with my friend Kim, a far more relaxed version of me. She said that I hadn’t taken a break since high school and it was about time. Then I thought about it.

I have worked vigorously taking summer classes, interned and worked for six years at a retirement center and breaks have been few and far between. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t stressed out and crying. I just worked hard to get done quick.

Looking back, I wonder why.

So, since my dive into the unemployment world I’ve gone to the beach more, spent more time with my family and friends and actually have relaxed. I was hired four days after I graduated college, my break never came.

So, as Kim puts it, I’m making up for lost time.

I don’t know what the future holds, but the summer is looking to be quite busy even without having a full-time job.

I’ve been nominated to be the director of our Sunday School’s Vacation Bible School where we’ll be heading to New Martinsville, W.V. I’ve also volunteered to teach at my local church’s vacation bible school.

God’s given me an opportunity to take the time to relax and do some of His work, I’m excited for the chance.

Leave a Reply

