Two-legged dogs and lessons learned

I was working on a story about getting a second Veterans Affairs Regional Office in Florida today.

The backlog has caused hundreds of thousands of disability claims to go untouched for months at a time. Some claims not touched until after the veteran passes away.

A story I felt was important. A story that needs to be written and an issue that needs to be heard. Then my supervisor got a call.

A local veterinarian recently adopted a new mascot for her animal clinic, a two-legged, border collie mix.

You’ll understand why I didn’t immediately jump to my feet, but being the bottom of the barrel and having the most flexible schedule I was given the duty of dog writing.

I sat in the car on the 30 minute ride over with a less than positive attitude thinking if I knew I would be writing about a dog named Scoots in college I would have laughed out loud.

Then I met Scoots.

Born with a genetic defect, she was forced to scoot around, sometimes getting tangled up by her own front legs. Then the vet decided the best chance Scoots had of being mobile was to remove her two front legs that were unusable.

Scoots was precious, I couldn’t resist petting her and speaking  in a ridiculous voice, which is rare since I’m really not an animal person.

Then the vet told me about this amazing program she is funding completely on her own. She takes in disabled animals from Pensacola to Chipley, Fla. and gives them to families that will love them despite any flaws they have.

It taught me a valuable lesson.

In everything, you can find good. In the stories that seem silly and ridiculous, if you try and look hard, you can find the depth to each story.

Thanks Scoots for opening up my eyes.

Leave a Reply

