Helping in Haiti

I want to go to Haiti. I want to help make the orphans feel better, help give out food and supplies and show love to the people of Haiti.

I, however, can’t take off until after August as part of my companies policy.And when I told my parents about wanting to go they said I would be another mouth to feed and what’s needed is military personnel. I know they’re right, and my way of helping is donating money not being over there in the thick of it — darn it.

But I get to do the next best thing to being there, I get to talk to people who have been there and helped. People who are eagerly looking forward to going back to help.

Today, I got the opportunity to Hurlburt Field, one of two Special Operations Units in the nation. Aircraft units from Hurlburt were some of the first to touch ground in Haiti with medical supplies, food water and physicians.

I was told yesterday they were setting it up so journalist could talk with not only people who are in contact with military personnel in Haiti, but also some who have been deployed and are back.

I was expecting to hear about devastation, about heartache and about the pain in Haiti. But those in Haiti were still over there. I and the five other journalist there were able to speak with maintenance crews and some physicians who went over and spent only a few hours at the airport.

The crews dropped off supplies and picked up survivors back to America.

It wasn’t what I was expecting, but I heard about how grateful the people were for the help of not only America, but of all the countries that have come together.

Men, women and children transported didn’t speak about what they had seen, but slept, talked about football or played around — just grateful to get away from the pain and see hope for a less painful surrounding upon landing.

After we left, the public affairs officers told us when someone was available who had been on the ground we would get to talk with them.

I don’t know what to expect, but keeping this issue afloat is something I feel is very important and getting to talk with some of the heroes that dedicate their life is an added bonus.

To read the story: check out nwfdailynews.com.

Leave a Reply

