First Day Dreams

Today was the last of the first days of school for the three counties my paper covers.

Since three weeks ago, I’ve been heading to schools, taking pictures and talking with students while trying to come up with a creative way to write about the first day of school – and, of course, each of the three has to be different.

It’s weird. The first day, at least to me, always has a scent that reminds me of knots in my stomach, reminiscing with old friends and the excitement of all the possibilities the year had to offer.

Up until my later high school days I would work hard preparing what I would wear, how my hair would look and what I would pack for lunch the entire first week.

Now, I get up and am out the door in five minutes usually looking pretty atrocious.

Each time I’ve gone to the schools to take pictures, interview the students and check to see how smoothly things are going I’ve realized how much I miss it.

Who would have ever thought. If you would have told me in middle school that the real world is not all it’s cracked up to be and I’d actually miss those awkward days, I would have timidly smiled and thought you were insane.

My how time has changed.

I would love to be back in the classroom getting excited about seeing my old classmates rather than catching up at a friend’s baby shower,  but this is where I am.

No longer do I look forward to the homecoming dance, but the wedding that’s next month. Friends are having children, moving away and becoming real adults.

Heck, as much as I hate to admit it, I’m even becoming a grownup – Yikes!

I know I have so much more to look forward to with work, relationships and all the things that come with growing older.

It’s just nice to look at students in their brand new shoes, nervous faces and schedules clutched tight in their little hands and remember that not too long ago I was there and know that not too long from now they’ll be where I am.

Happy first day of school everybody, enjoy it while it lasts!

Leave a Reply

