Living the Dream: Reporting on Slimy, Smelly Sludge

There’s nothing like the smell of dead fish in the morning.

This morning, I got an email that said I would be doing the centerpiece story on the mystery “sludge” that has washed ashore on the beaches.

I won’t lie, hearing the word sludge will probably never excite me.

The beach was disgusting. I walked on mushy/hard/crumbly sand that sat in between fishy, green seaweed and algae.

Just what I always wanted to do as a little girl: Grab my notepad and camera to do the exclusive on green crap that smells bad.

But as I am going to be a positive person no matter what, a decision I just decided on, I will look at the positives.

I was able to talk to a local couple who knew why it was nasty and explained quite articulately all the going-ons of beach seaweed.

Then I interviewed a woman, who made me feel like a hippo because she was so skinny, and talked to her about why on earth she would get in that nasty water and what it felt like.

Side note to you skinny girl: One day a cookie will be shoved in your mouth and I will be that hand doing the shoving. You’re welcome in advance.

Then I went on the pier, passed the perverted guy that collects the toll after a long discussion on my polka dotted dress, and talked with a guy who has been fishing in the area for 50 years and gave great quotes. Plus, he caught a fish as we were talking – nice.

I hate sludge, slime and seaweed. It’s gross and smells, but getting out of the office and talking with various folks definitely makes it worth it. Plus, I got myself a large Diet Coke from Sonic, yum.

Leave a Reply

