I May Not Be the Best Reporter, But My Timing is Impeccable

Have you ever watched an episode of the Office? If you haven’t, you should check your life. If you have, then you will (hopefully) see where I am going with this.

I had an interesting day. The story I intended to do wasn’t done and the second story I set out to do changed completely into an even better story.

I feel like on most days I’m similar to Michael Scott. I have no real clue what I’m doing, I bumble around and, somehow, at the end of the day everything works out despite my constant screw ups.

Today, the story I had planned to do wasn’t looking good so I looked at my pile of story ideas and found the one that would get me out of the office.

Some 18-year-old had robbed this hippie store and had taken a lot of herbal incense. My boss said she’d seen a couple of cases similar and wanted to know what the deal was with this herb.

Since my googling skills are less than awesome, I could not find the store’s number, just the address.

So I left for the hippie store whose motto, “We sell fun,” made me shake my head when I got there and when I left I busted out laughing thinking about everything I had just learned.

Did you know that there are herbs, bath salts and pills that are meant to mimic illegal drugs? I learned about it today.

While the lady, who had clearly burned too much “herbal incense” in her day blubbered on about “the man” and the need for legalizing marijuana she mentioned the “deathly” month that December would be for her store and others like it.

I was, as usual, clueless.

“What’s happening in December?”

Apparently, just last week the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency issued a 30-day notice that there would be a ban on the substances. Thus came the change of story.

Since I was in the area, I stopped by the police department to talk a little more about this mystery of legal drugs or “fake pot.”

They told me all about the lack of monitoring, the rise in crime and the expected enforcement that will reign down on the shop owner I had just spoken with.

Story complete — it sometimes is good to be a Michael Scott in this world.

2 responses to “I May Not Be the Best Reporter, But My Timing is Impeccable

  1. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

  2. Good lesson on several levels — the best stories are reported OUT of the bloody newsroom (such a misnomer) and they are often not at all what you expected. The best editors roll with it.

Leave a Reply

