Faking the Flirt

I’ve never had a problem using my “womanly wiles” to get what I want.

Don’t go thinking I’m a floozy or anything – by “wiles” I mean a wave to the guy driving next to me so he will let me in, a smile to the guy serving food so I can get an extra breadstick or a pouty face at the guy at the store for a 25-percent-off discount.

I do what I have to do.

In the world of journalism, especially working the cop’s beat, using my “wiles” can really come in handy. I’m just not sure if it’s a good thing or not.

Sure, a little laugh at a cheesy joke now and then doesn’t hurt anybody, but when’s it too far?

A smiley face in an email, a promise to stop by when I’m driving by for a story, or company when he sets me up to ride in the Sheriff’s Office helicopter.

Flirting may not be what Woodward and Bernstein did, but it’s gotten me exclusives, calls for random happenings and neat opportunities.

So, is it worth it to fake the flirt?

Leave a Reply

