Newspaper meet Social Media

Yep, my newspaper is getting in on the social media and I don’t know how I feel about it.

I’ve been on Facebook since I got into college, that’s back when you needed an academic email address to join. Twitter I was more resistant with, but I joined the beginning of 2010.

Now, I’m being forced to sit through two-hour long seminars explaining the in’s and out’s. I can’t help but think its a waste of time.

I am, however, excited that we’re finally jumping on the band wagon. New York Times has been on Twitter since 2007.

What’s challenging is how to use social media. I know how to use both personally (wanna follow me on Twitter? Do it!)

Professionally is a whole other story. I don’t know when to tweet about stories and when to wait.

I try to use Facebook to get sources, but its not always a guarantee. This new world for newspapers confuses and excites.

Anyone thinking about jumping into this world who isn’t well versed in all things social media better hurry. A new wave is coming.

Leave a Reply

