It’s All Coming Out

Dear Blogosphere,

I’m going to be honest – it’s been a rough one as of late. I write this post begrudgingly because I feel it is my personal duty to warn anyone desiring to go into the field of print newspaper about how terrible life will be.

Yesterday, I moved back home.

photo (3)

That’s right. At the ripe age of 26 after working full-time at the same newspaper for more than four years I cannot afford to live on my own.

photo (4)

I cannot afford to live without roommates and, unfortunately, I’m out of those because who wants to live with a stranger or someone they know they will want to kill within the week?

… So I have two new roommates who go by the names Mom and Dad. As an aside to save whatever amount of pride remains, I heard a recent statistic that 40 percent of people my age are living at home.

photo (5)

When I first realized this would be happening I cried a lot. This is not where I wanted to be in life.

At 26 I was supposed to be married, in a great job and getting ready to move into my own house or have a kid or buy a big TV.

Instead, I’m trying to figure out how to fit my whole life into a home my parents have set up with the thought that their grown children wouldn’t be needing to come back.

photo (7)

I love my mom and dad. They’ve been so generous about all of this. They know this is my only option, but it bothers me that I have to do this.

It bothers me that I can’t live in a cheap apartment by myself because I just don’t have enough money for that.

So kids, the lesson today is A.) Don’t go into this field unless you have literally no pride and can suck up living with your mother and father even as an adult and B.) Routinely get rid of stuff because moving is the pits.

Leave a Reply

